Wi-Fi 802.11ax announced; Will be called Wi-Fi 6

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The Wi-Fi Alliance announces the next generation of Wi-Fi technology — 802.11ax based Wi-Fi 6. They’re also changing how it’s called.

Wi-Fi 6 aka Wi-Fi 802.11ax

Each new generation of Wi-Fi technology features a series of improvements such as faster speeds, increased throughput, and better experiences. So expected the new Wi-Fi 6 to be better in those categories.

The Wi-Fi Alliance also announced a new naming scheme to identify the different generations of Wi-Fi technologies.

I think this is good news, considering how confusing and technical sounding the old names of 802.11 a, b, g, n, and ac were. Truth be told, I never bothered Googling why it’s named that way.

Related: Smart Wi-Fi rolls out in over 100 schools areas

According to the announcement, the new names will be simpler and easier to remember. Basically, they’ll just replace the 802.11 technology identifier with a number. The new name sequences are:

  • Wi-Fi 6 –> 802.11 ax
  • Wi-Fi 5 –> 802.11ac
  • Wi-Fi 4 –> 802.11n

Now, isn’t that better? So expect to see the new Wi-Fi names on your device and smartphone spec sheet, and router details.


Bryan, the voice behind the blog, is a tech and gadget enthusiast who spends his day blogging, writing fiction, and watching NBA clips on YouTube.

Write A Comment