Game Awards 2023: Baldur’s Gate 3 wins big, full list of winners

The Game Awards 2023, the annual event that celebrates the best games of the year, has announced its winners. The ceremony, which was streamed live on December 7, 2023, featured 31 categories and honored games from various genres and platforms.

The Game Award winners were decided by a combination of votes from a panel of industry experts and the public. For this year, there were 31 categories in total, ranging from the prestigious Game of the Year to the more niche Best Adaptation. Some of the more interesting categories include Best Mobile Game, Best Esports Game, Best Adaptation, and Best Independent Game.

The big winner of the night was Baldur’s Gate 3, the long-awaited sequel to the classic role-playing game series by Larian Studios. The game won four awards, including Game of the Year, Best Ongoing Game, Best RPG, and Best Multiplayer Game. The game also won the Players’ Voice award, which was determined by fan votes.

Alan Wake 2
Alan Wake 2

Another game that received multiple awards was Alan Wake 2, the sequel to the cult-favorite psychological thriller by Remedy Entertainment. The game, which was released in October 2023, won three awards, including Best Game Direction, Best Narrative, and Best Art Direction. The game also featured the Best Performance winner, Neil Newbon, who played the titular character.

Other notable winners include Honkai Star Rail, the mobile game by miHoYo that won Best Mobile Game; Valorant, the competitive shooter by Riot Games that won Best Esports Game; The Last of Us, the HBO series based on the acclaimed game by Naughty Dog that won Best Adaptation; and Sea of Stars, the retro-inspired RPG by Sabotage Studio that won Best Independent Game.

The full list of winners for the Game Awards 2023 is as follows:

Game Awards 2023 Winners

  • Game of the year – Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Best Mobile Game – Honkai Star Rail
  • Best Esports Game – Valorant
  • Best Adaptation – The Last of Us
  • Best Independent Game – Sea of Stars

Other winners

  • Best Game Direction – Alan Wake 2
  • Best Narrative – Alan Wake 2
  • Best Art Direction – Alan Wake 2
  • Best Score and Music – Final Fantasy 16
  • Best Audio Design – Hi-Fi Rush
  • Best Performance – Neil Newbon
  • Games for Impact – Tchia
  • Best Ongoing Game – Cyberpunk 2077
  • Best Indie Game – Sea of Stars
  • Best Debut Indie Game – Cocoon
  • Best Community Support – Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Best VR/AR Game – Resident Evil Village
  • Innovation in Accessibility – Forza Motorsport
  • Best Action Game – Armored Core 6: Fires of Rubicon
  • Best Action/Adventure Game – The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom
  • Best RPG – Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Best Fighting Game – Street Fighter 6
  • Best Family Game – Super Mario Bros. Wonder
  • Best Sports/Racing Game – Forza Motorsport
  • Best SIM/Strategy Game – Pikmin 4
  • Best Multiplayer Game – Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Content Creator of the Year – IronMouse
  • Best Esports Athlete – Lee “Faker” Sang-hyeok
  • Best Esports Coach – Christine “potter” Chi
  • Best Esports Event – 2023 League of Legends World Championship
  • Best Esports Team – JD Gaming
  • Most Anticipated Game – Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth
  • Players’ Voice – Baldur’s Gate 3

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees of the Game Awards 2023. You can watch the full ceremony on YouTube or visit the official website for more information.

Bryan is a geek at heart and a tech enthusiast by choice. He has a strong background in corporate communications, marketing services, and customer relations having worked in the telecommunications and banking sectors for over two decades. In his spare time, he enjoys watching clips on YouTube and binge watching shows on Netflix.

Write A Comment