Reminder: One RFID tag for all tollways starting July 2024

One RFID tag to rule them all.

The Toll Regulatory Board (TRB) will implement a unified radio frequency identification (RFID) system for all toll expressways in the country starting July 2024.

The one RFID tag policy will make toll payments more convenient and efficient for motorists, as well as reduce traffic congestion and contactless transactions at toll plazas.

There are two tollway operators in the Philippines: San Miguel Corporation (SMC) which provides AutoSweep RFID tags and Metro Pacific Tollways Corporation (MPTC) with EasyTrip RFID tags.

SMC operates the South Luzon Expressway, the Southern Tagalog Arterial Road Tollway, Skyway, Skyway Stage 3, the Tarlac Pangasinan La Union Expressway, the Muntinlupa Cavite Expressway, and the Ninoy Aquino International Airport Expressway.

MPTC, meanwhile, operates the North Luzon Expressway, the NLEX Harbor Link, the Subic Clark Tarlac Expressway, the Cavite Laguna Expressway, the C5 Link, and the Cavite Expressway.

Currently, motorists plying the expressways can use the AutoSweep RFID tags in select EasyTrip tollways, and vice versa.

Motorists without RFID tags can register for one for free. It can be done online or in RFID registration areas throughout the expressways.

Image credit: SMC

Bryan is a geek at heart and a tech enthusiast by choice. He has a strong background in corporate communications, marketing services, and customer relations having worked in the telecommunications and banking sectors for over two decades. In his spare time, he enjoys watching clips on YouTube and binge watching shows on Netflix.

Write A Comment