Google recently announced that the next version of the Android platform, internally called Android Q, will be named Android 10. They have also updated the Android logo and introduced a new brand color.

What this means is that they will no longer use the dessert based names in alphabetical order like Pie, Oreo, Nougat, Marshmallow, etc. This was done to avoid confusion as the previous names they have used were not always familiar to everyone around the world.

Android 10 Logo

Also Read: Redesigned Google Play Store now available for everyone

Aside from the naming convention, Google also refreshed the Android logo and the brand color, giving it a more modern and accessible look. The android robot has been simplified with a new color. The text logo color has also been changed from green to black.

Google will officially start using the refreshed logo in the coming weeks with the final release of Android 10.

YouTube video

Android Dessert Names

For the curious, here are the dessert-based names Google has used for every Android version (the list is from How-to Geek):

  • Android 1.5, Cupcake
  • Android 1.6, Donut
  • Android 2.0-2.1, Eclair
  • Android 2.2-2.2.3, Froyo
  • Android 2.3-2.3.7, Gingerbread
  • Android 3.0-3.2.6, Honeycomb
  • Android 4.0-4.0.4, Ice Cream Sandwich: October 18, 2011 (initial release)
  • Android 4.1-4.3.1, Jelly Bean
  • Android 4.4-4.4.4, KitKat
  • Android 5.0-5.1.1, Lollipop
  • Android 6.0-6.0.1, Marshmallow
  • Android 7.0-7.1.2, Nougat
  • Android 8.0-8.1, Oreo
  • Android 9.0, Pie

Source: Google


Bryan is a tech enthusiast and self-admitted geek who enjoys blogging and watching NBA clips on YouTube. He has over 20 years of experience in corporate communications, marketing services, and customer relations from different industries such as telecommunications and banking.

Write A Comment