The MMDA will soon start the expanded number coding scheme on August 15, 2022, in anticipation of the increase in traffic as face-to-face classes start this November.

The coding scheme will cover rush hours in the mornings and evenings, from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM and from 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM.

As per usual, during these times, vehicles ending in specific numbers will not be allowed to ply the affected roads. The schedule are as follows:

  • Monday: Plates ending in 1 and 2
  • Tuesday: Plates ending in 3 and 4
  • Wednesday: Plates ending in 5 and 6
  • Thursday: Plates ending in 7 and 8
  • Friday: Plates ending in 9 and 0

The roads with coding are the following:

  • Makati (7 AM to 7PM)
  • EDSA
  • C5
  • Recto Avenue
  • Quirino Avenue
  • Araneta Avenue
  • C6
  • Roxas Boulevard
  • Taft Avenue
  • South Luzon Expressway
  • Muntinlupa (Alabang-Zapote Road only)
  • Shaw Boulevard
  • Ortigas Avenue
  • Magsaysay Boulevard
  • Aurora Boulevard
  • Quezon Avenue
  • Bonifacio Avenue
  • Rizal Avenue
  • Del Pan
  • Marcos Highway

Makati City will enforce the coding scheme from 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM. Meanwhile, Muntinlupa City will only implement it on the Alabang-Zapote Road.

On August 15 to 17, the MMDA will not yet apprehend violators, and instead will only issue warnings. Arrests and ticketing will start on August 18.

Also Read: MMDA targets new number coding implementation in May, aims to reduce 40% traffic volume

The following vehicles are exempted from the coding scheme: tricycles, transport network vehicles, garbage trucks, fuel trucks, fire trucks, ambulances, marked media vehicles, marked government vehicles, and motor vehicles carrying essential and/or perishable goods.

Via 1, 2


Bryan is a tech enthusiast and self-admitted geek who enjoys blogging and watching NBA clips on YouTube. He has over 20 years of experience in corporate communications, marketing services, and customer relations from different industries such as telecommunications and banking.

Write A Comment