Facebook recently rolled out Vanish Mode on Messenger. Here, users can send messages, images, and videos which disappears after it has been read or when you leave the chat.
While its purpose can be debated, its nice to know that your silly or risque chat messages on Messenger won’t permanently stay on the app.
As an added precaution, users are alerted (via a quick flash of the screen) when someone takes a screenshot of the conversation. Moreover, users can also block and report to Facebook any inappropriate messages in Vanish Mode.
Only people who are connected on Facebook or follow each other on Instagram can use Vanish Mode in one-on-one chat rooms.
Vanish Mode is now available in select countries. It is also coming to Instagram soon.
How to use Vanish Mode in Messenger
Assuming its available in your country: To use vanish mode on Messenger, just swipe up on an existing chat thread. Once you’re there, the screen will go dark to signify that you’re now in Vanish Mode. Swipe up again to go back to the regular chat.
Once the message has been seen, it expires and disappears. The same thing happens when someone leaves the chat.
While waiting for Vanish Mode to arrive, you can also use Facebook’s Secret Conversations if disappearing messages is what you’re looking for in Messenger.